RIP Mugabe Were

You will (rightly) accuse me of singling out the death of one MP against the background of hundreds more who have been killed in the last few weeks. I do not, I grieve for every single on of those innocent Kenyans who have had to suffer the wrath of the selfishness of our ‘leaders.’

I happened to talk to one of the late Melitus Mugabe Were Embakasi constituents who explained to me that despite belonging to a different tribe and party, she voted for him because of who he was; a down-to-earth, partriotic, loving and dedicated person. Clearly, a Kenyan in the true sense of the word.

And all those 600 or so who have been slaughtered mercilessly for the benefit of the political class, who did not represent constituencies or have degrees in Communication, who looked after their families and taught others’ children, who were proud of their Kenyan-ness, who dreamed of a future now cut short, whose only sin was speaking the ‘wrong’ language in the ‘wrong’ place, God is not mocked.

I take great exception with this unbelievable BBC online story, but if it is in fact true, just where did the rain begin to beat us? What happens to me whose best friends are all from another tribe?

Raila Kibaki shake hands

Will a handshake solve our problems?

NB: A reader Ita graciously began a memories page for the late Were here. Do drop by and leave condolences etcetera. And thanks Ita.

5 comments
  1. kikuyu_chic said:

    hahahahaha

    1 down, 98 to go

    kikuyu_chic
    ||I used to work with another lady who is exactly like this lady right here. I will let this one comment remain to show the rest of us how so polarized we have become that we can laugh and celebrate at the death of a human being, any human being. RIP Mugabe Were

  2. bryjoe said:

    haiya! kikuyi chick..have gone and lost some marbles?

    i have been to Naivasha and eldoret and seen for myself the ugly scenes…no seat is worth all that blood.
    we hope God will here our cries/prayers.
    kikuyu chick preach love for the sake of the remaining kenyans…am half kikuyu so i can still relate to your anger and frankly its not helping the situation.

  3. motherland said:

    PEOPLE LIKE KIKUYU CHICK DO NOT KNOW HOW LUCKY THEY ARE TO BE BREATHING, NONTHELESS THIS IS NOT ABOUT CRAP LIKE THEM.MUGABE WERE WAS YOUNG AND PROMISING AND I DO NOT THINK THAT AT THIS JUNCTURE IT IS ANYBODY’S OFFICE TO SAY HOW BENEFICIAL OR OTHERWISE IT IS TO THEIR CAMP(I AM TALKINGH TO THE YOUNG & YOUTHFUL).
    BUT INDEED IT IS YOUR OFFICE TO SAVE THIS COUNTRY BY PRESERVING KINSMEN OF “KIKUYU CHIC” IF AT ALL IT WILL HELP IN ANY WAY IN AVERTING THE BLOODSHED THAT IS NOW THREATENING THE 10TH PARLIAMENT,OR BETTER STILL(FOR ALL HER STUPID MIRTH)KILL ‘EM ALL.I MEAN KINSMEN OF “KIKUYU CHIC”

  4. Mbish said:

    Friends, its sad to take note of the demise of my very own MP, Hon Mellitus Mugabe Were. Yaani he had not started enjoying the 1st salary on his new job. May God rest his soul in eternal peace. For the rest of us, Peace is the way to go. I’d rather I live to serve and be proud of my country than die for it. My dying for my country has NO ADDED ADVANTAGE to its citizens.Make peace!!!!

Leave a Reply

